Protected Characteristics (Equality)

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Turton Edgworth

 We work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • Everyone is different
  • We respect differences
  • We celebrate our differences

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

At Turton Edgworth, we actively promote these through our curriculum and worship and work to embed them into our ethos.